Moderator Control Panel ]

TBS6982 Full Install Guide Ubuntu 15.04

TBS6982 Full Install Guide Ubuntu 15.04

Postby WalstonTempest » Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:32 am

This guide will show you how to deal with building the tbs6982 dual tuner linux drivers, creating a .deb package and then using apt/dpkg to install it to your system. Using a .deb package is desirable for Ubuntu as then it can also be uninstalled easily too. The guide will also cover what to do when a kernel upgrade happens and the drivers stop working as a result.

I am not a linux expert but have adapted the Ubuntu How To Compile guide and the instructions given by http://www.havetheknowhow.com/Configure-the-server/Install-Tuner.html plus info from the mess of readme's contained in the driver package (helpfully the 6982 has no specific readme!). Simply copy and paste the code lines below into the terminal and run for success. I think this guide should work for any of the drivers contained in the same driver zip. I am not sure why tbs requires you to choose your specific card from the list as there seems to be a common package for all of them? This guide has many steps, but I have included everything so that new linux users should have no problems.

First off we need to prep our system for building packages.

Code: Select All Code
sudo apt-get install build-essential checkinstall unzip linux-generic linux-headers-generic linux-source

You should then create a common directory for yourself where you'll be building these packages. Ubuntu recommend creating the directory /usr/local/src for compiling tasks.

sudo mkdir /usr/local/src

Make sure this directory is writable by your primary user account.

sudo chown YOURUSERNAME /usr/local/src

And to ensure you have the correct permissions.

sudo chmod u+rwx /usr/local/src

Now go to that directory.

cd /usr/local/src

Now download the driver (When a new driver gets released the following line will need to be changed to the new driver).