Moderator Control Panel ]

How do I 'switch' the driver into T2 mode

Re: How do I 'switch' the driver into T2 mode

Postby stocksy » Sun Sep 25, 2011 9:30 pm

This still doesn't quite work for me.

I'm familiar with the idea of loading and unloading kernel modules. I followed okbet's directions exactly, yet when I load the T2 version of the module, the card still finds only DVB-T channels, but only functions as a single-tuner card, adapter 0 disappears leaving only adapter 1. Here's what happens in syslog when I load the module:

Sep 25 12:31:09 myth kernel: [ 5188.722388] SAA716x TBS 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
Sep 25 12:31:09 myth kernel: [ 5188.722403] SAA716x TBS 0000:01:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
Sep 25 12:31:09 myth kernel: [ 5188.732194] DVB: registering new adapter (SAA716x dvb adapter)
Sep 25 12:31:09 myth kernel: [ 5188.844752] tbs62x0fe: tuner attach failed
Sep 25 12:31:09 myth kernel: [ 5188.844910] TurboSight TBS 6280: frontend initialization failed
Sep 25 12:31:09 myth kernel: [ 5188.845080] DVB: registering new adapter (SAA716x dvb adapter)
Sep 25 12:31:09 myth kernel: [ 5188.924631] DVB: registering adapter 1 frontend 0 (TurboSight TBS 62x0 DVBT frontend)...

I am sure that the T2 module I've built is different, the two .ko files show different file size. I did the whole procedure twice just to make sure I didn't mess something up in the build.

What else should I try?
stocksy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: How do I 'switch' the driver into T2 mode

Postby briogoog » Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:30 am

I could not get the driver switch to work either, I did a reboot and it then worked in DVB-T2 mode. Not tried a driver switch since.
An older DVB-T card now does DVB-T and the TBS6280 does DVB-T2
I have now re-configured myth with 2 channel sources SD & HD and it now sorts itself out as which card to use.
Not had a problem since ether in HD or SD.
-brio
briogoog
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:32 am

Re: How do I 'switch' the driver into T2 mode

Postby manaesh » Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:12 pm

Hi All

Any more news on the Combined driver release date?? I am chomping at the bit to get this working!

I could do some beta testing if you wish?

Thanks

Mike
manaesh
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 3:15 am

Re: How do I 'switch' the driver into T2 mode

Postby Max67 » Tue Oct 04, 2011 9:03 pm

Yes can you advise the ETA for the combined T/T2 driver.
Max67
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:56 pm

Re: How do I 'switch' the driver into T2 mode

Postby manaesh » Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:55 pm

Hi

Any idea at all when it will be released? Seems a bit quiet around here recently!!!

Cheers

Mike
manaesh
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 3:15 am

Re: How do I 'switch' the driver into T2 mode

Postby SingingDwarf » Sat Nov 05, 2011 12:53 am

I note that the 3.x driver is now release (viewtopic.php?f=52&t=1645), although it is not possible to download it at the time of writing.

Could you please confirm if this is a merged T/T2 driver, or whether the card must still be used in either one mode or the other?
SingingDwarf
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 12:47 am

Re: How do I 'switch' the driver into T2 mode

Postby stever » Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:26 pm

Another vote for this functionality!!
We need a setting on the module that for each frontend, sets whether the frontend is t or t2!!
Silly having 2 or more frontends in a machine when there is only one t2 frequency being transmitted! :)

This card works really nicely otherwise! im happy with it.

Steve.
stever
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:21 pm

Re: How do I 'switch' the driver into T2 mode

Postby SingingDwarf » Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:47 pm

TBS can you please confirm ETA for the mixed mode T and T2 driver?

I am keen to buy one of these, but now tempted by the BlackGold BGT3620 which I dont think has these dual mode issues
SingingDwarf
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 12:47 am

Re: How do I 'switch' the driver into T2 mode

Postby stever » Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:08 am

This is unfortunate..
After using this card a little bit, im starting to regret my choice.
As the drivers are closed source, they are locked to a particular version of dvb-core... which means if you have any other dvb cards in the system they need to work 100% with that version.
Unfortunately, I have a usb-dvb that is hitting a bug with this version of dvb-core... If i had a driver that would let me set one of the tuners in the 6280 to dvb-t and the other dvb-t2, i could just decom the usb card.. but... who knows when that driver is coming :(

I would not recommend that linux users buy this card before the better driver is released.
stever
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:21 pm

Re: How do I 'switch' the driver into T2 mode

Postby manaesh » Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:19 am

Agreed. I have had two of these cards for over 3 months now - and as they are my only DVB cards, have to run them in DVB-T - not T2 mode.

So it looks like I have spent £200 ($250) on cards that are useless without the driver that TBS are supposed to be writing - that looks like it will never see the light of day - as they are to busy on newer exciting projects.

Looks like I might cut my losses - and ebay the cards - and then at least get a DVB-T2 card that works.

Very disappointed with tbs - will make me think twice about their products in future!!

Mike
manaesh
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 3:15 am

PreviousNext

Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron