Moderator Control Panel ]

Can't use more than 1 tuner

Can't use more than 1 tuner

Postby speedyrazor » Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:36 pm

Hi, I am using my 6984 with MediaPortal, which I have been using for about 6 years with various different cards, so I am no beginner when it comes to MediaPortal. For some reason with my 6984 card I can't use more than 1 tuner at a time.
If I set a programme to record, and when that starts to record it will freeze the current channel I am watching, this happens on freeview and pay channels. What is the best way to go about fault find this issue, seeing what is at fault, the 6984, the cable, the quad LNB?
Whats best best thing to check first please?

Kind regards.
speedyrazor

Re: Can't use more than 1 tuner

Postby speedyrazor » Sun Feb 10, 2013 3:31 pm

Hi, OK, I have figured out why my problem is intermittent, the first time I try to use more than 1 tuner at a time after reboot I get the issue, as soon as MP has unsuccessfully used 2 tuners at the same time, then I can use 2 tuners at the same time successfully. As soon as MP has unsuccessfully used 3 tuners at the same time, then I can use 3 tuners at the same time successfully. If I reboot it all then starts again.
I have had this problem for months, but never figured out what was happening.
speedyrazor

Postby steven » Mon Feb 11, 2013 1:09 pm

Hi speedyrazor

Would you mind having a look at this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=36&t=8016
Add some delay time for MP after reboot.

Kind Regards

steven
steven

Postby speedyrazor » Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:08 pm

Hi, thanks for the tip, I tried it but unfortunately made no difference.
I have moved the card to another PCI-E slot, plugged it in a power source (connector from the power supply, so a good source) and unfortunately I still havr the same problem.
My motherboard is an Asus P8Z68-V LX with the latest bios, currently in PCI-E slot 1 (PCI-E X1 slot).

I am also posting this issue over on the MediaPortal forum: