Moderator Control Panel ]

Setup VDR (Video Disc Recorder)

Setup VDR (Video Disc Recorder)

Postby MarCelluS » Tue Jan 20, 2015 9:39 pm

Hi there, this is my first post here, I have the MOI+ streamer partially set-up, but would like to have it fully set up. So far, I did not find out how to do this, so I start this topic about the setup of VDR.

I have the TBS 6991 buit in. I also have a Canal Digitaal suscription, with two smartcards, and two CAM modules. I also have a Philips 8141 STB where I test the card and dish setup with. This is all working. For the CAM and smartcard to work, I need VDR. The dish has a so called Duo Quad LNB, Duo for the Astra1 and Astra3, and Quad for the four outputs. It is the standard set provided by Canal Digitaal in the Netherlads an other countries iin the Astra1+3 coverage area.

Now, when I scan for channels, I only get results if I only scan Astra1 (19.2e). If I scan for Astra 3 (23.5e) the process finisches, but I can not watch any channel. For testing purposes I use VLC.

My question is; How do I tell VDR to scan for Astra1 and Astra3? And how to tell VDR on which DiSEqC position the satellites are? And, after scanning, how to edit the channels list? I quess it can not be done through the fancy web interface?

So far, this is what I tried already;

To scan for both Astra satellites, I first set the Astra1 in the upper part of the "S-tunning-settings.html" screen and press the "Set DiSEqC" button,
tbsdtv-vdr-01.png
Astra 1 setting

then, I enter the Astra3 in the upper part and press the "Set DiSEqC" button again.
tbsdtv-vdr-02.png
Astra 3 setting

After that, I press the "Scan Channels" button, with "Autoscan" checked. (see both images I uploaded) This process takes a long long time.

After 25 minutes, I get this dialog, and that doesn't make me particularly happy. So, what am I doing wrong here?
tbsdtv-vdr-03.png
Fail


I also tried setting the DiSEqC switch port for Astra1 to 0, and Astra3 to 1, but same result. Astra1 is on the first DiSEqC port, and Astra3 on the second. I took in consideration that port 1 sometimes is called port 0. So, why is this not working?

I ssh't into the MOI+. When I run top, I do not see a process called vdr. When I try to run it, I get this error: segmentation fault.

Anyone?
MarCelluS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:49 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Setup VDR (Video Disc Recorder)

Postby MarCelluS » Wed Jan 21, 2015 4:44 pm

I have found this: I view (with vi) the configuration file diseqc.conf in /etc/vdr/, something strange happens: first, I configure diseqc position 1 as mentioned above. After that, I view the content of the configuration file. All looks good. Then I close the file, go back to web interface and configure the second position. Then, when i go back to open the diseqc.conf file, it shows me only the astra3 data and the data for astra1 is gone. ?????? Also, it says astra3 is on diseqc position 1, despite the fact that I entered position 2 into the web interface! So I think this is a fault by design.

I am going to try setting it manually later today, have to work too. ;-)
MarCelluS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:49 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Setup VDR (Video Disc Recorder)

Postby MarCelluS » Thu Jan 22, 2015 3:45 pm

Well, I did scan with the edited diseqc.conf and it finisched with no errors. But, unfortunately the result was is found just the channels from the first satellite (Astra1). So, after the scan I checked the "VDR" radio button in the web interface to start VDR, and check with "top" if it is working, and yes VDR starts with no errors for as far I can see. Open VLC, but only to see the Astra1 channels. :(

This is the content of diseqc.conf:

1 :
S19.2E 11700 V 9750 t v W15 [E0 10 38 F0] W244 [E0 10 38 F0] W15 t
S19.2E 99999 V 10600 t v W15 [E0 10 38 F1] W244 [E0 10 38 F1] W15 T
S19.2E 11700 H 9750 t V W15 [E0 10 38 F2] W244 [E0 10 38 F2] W15 t
S19.2E 99999 H 10600 t V W15 [E0 10 38 F3] W244 [E0 10 38 F3] W15 T
2 :
S23.5E 11700 V 9750 t v W15 [E0 10 38 F4] W244 [E0 10 38 F4] W15 t
S23.5E 99999 V 10600 t v W15 [E0 10 38 F5] W244 [E0 10 38 F5] W15 T
S23.5E 11700 H 9750 t V W15 [E0 10 38 F6] W244 [E0 10 38 F6] W15 t
S23.5E 99999 H 10600 t V W15 [E0 10 38 F7] W244 [E0 10 38 F7] W15 T

The values for astra3 I copied and pasted out of the diseqc.conf after I pressed "Set DiSEqC" in the web interface with Astra3 selected with switch port set to 2...
MarCelluS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:49 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Setup VDR (Video Disc Recorder)

Postby zhangchao » Fri Jan 23, 2015 5:50 pm

hi ,

i find that scan-s2 to scan channels don't use the parameter -s 1 (1 means satellite number for diseqc 2) -s 2 (2 means satellite number for diseqc 3).
please refer to these steps :
//etc/vdr/diseqc.conf
3 :
S138.0E 11700 V 9750 t v W15 [E0 10 38 F0] W244 [E0 10 38 F0] W15 t
S138.0E 99999 V 10600 t v W15 [E0 10 38 F1] W244 [E0 10 38 F1] W15 T
S138.0E 11700 H 9750 t V W15 [E0 10 38 F2] W244 [E0 10 38 F2] W15 t
S138.0E 99999 H 10600 t V W15 [E0 10 38 F3] W244 [E0 10 38 F3] W15 T
4 :
S116.0E 11700 V 9750 t v W15 [E0 10 38 F4] W244 [E0 10 38 F4] W15 t
S116.0E 99999 V 10600 t v W15 [E0 10 38 F5] W244 [E0 10 38 F5] W15 T
S116.0E 11700 H 9750 t V W15 [E0 10 38 F6] W244 [E0 10 38 F6] W15 t
S116.0E 99999 H 10600 t V W15 [E0 10 38 F7] W244 [E0 10 38 F7] W15 T

//etc/vdr/channels.conf
CCTV 4:10988:VC34M2:S138.0E:41250:512+2306=2:650=eng@4:0:0:1:1:12:0
CCTV NEWS:10988:VC34M2:S138.0E:41250:513+2308=2:660=eng@4:0:0:2:1:12:0
CCTV OPERA:10988:VC34M2:S138.0E:41250:514+2310=2:670=eng@4:0:0:3:1:12:0
BEIJING;BEIJING:10988:VC34M2:S138.0E:41250:2100=2:2101=@3:0:0:101:1:12:0
SHANGHAI;SHANGHAI:10988:VC34M2:S138.0E:41250:2292=2:2293=@3:0:0:102:1:12:0
JIANGSU;JIANGSU:10988:VC34M2:S138.0E:41250:4092=2:4093=@3:0:0:103:1:12:0
HUNAN;HUNAN:10988:VC34M2:S138.0E:41250:4272=2:4273=@3:0:0:104:1:12:0
FUJIAN;FUJIAN:10988:VC34M2:S138.0E:41250:4812=2:4813=@3:0:0:105:1:12:0
XIAMEN;XIAMEN:10988:VC34M2:S138.0E:41250:4818=2:4819=@3:0:0:106:1:12:0
GUANGDONG;GUANGDONG:10988:VC34M2:S138.0E:41250:4992=2:4993=@3:0:0:107:1:12:0
SHENZHEN;SHENZHEN:10988:VC34M2:S138.0E:41250:4998=2:4999=@3:0:0:108:1:12:0
HKS TV;Harmonic:10922:VC34M2:S116.0E:33500:256:257:0:0:1:1:4:0
04 HD Channel;Harmonic:10922:VC34M2:S116.0E:33500:65:64:0:B00,4AED:38:1:4:0
01 HD Channel;Harmonic:10922:VC34M2:S116.0E:33500:60:59:0:4AED,B00:48:1:4:0
02 HD Channel;Harmonic:10922:VC34M2:S116.0E:33500:44:43:0:4AED,B00:49:1:4:0
03 HD Channel;Harmonic:10922:VC34M2:S116.0E:33500:40:32:0:B00,4AED:50:1:4:0
08-HD-Channel;Harmonic:10922:VC34M2:S116.0E:33500:54:34:0:4AED,B00:51:1:4:0
07-HD-Channel;Harmonic:10922:VC34M2:S116.0E:33500:52:49:0:B00,4AED:52:1:4:0
09-HD-Channel;Harmonic:10922:VC34M2:S116.0E:33500:47:46:0:4AED,B00:53:1:4:0
10-HD-Channel;Harmonic:10922:VC34M2:S116.0E:33500:35:33:0:4AED,B00:54:1:4:0
05-HD Channel;Harmonic:10922:VC34M2:S116.0E:33500:42:37:0:4AED,B00:55:1:4:0
06-HD Channel;Harmonic:10922:VC34M2:S116.0E:33500:57:56:0:4AED,B00:56:1:4:0

//run vdr :
vdr -g /tmp --vfat -Pstreamdev-server -v /video -c /etc/vdr

//watch in vlc:
http://192.168.xx.xx:3000/TS/channels.m3u


Best regards !
zhangchao
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 4:59 pm

Re: Setup VDR (Video Disc Recorder)

Postby MarCelluS » Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:25 pm

Thank you for reply. I see that in your channels.conf are stations from both satellites. In mine only for 1 satellite. When I enter "scan-s2" I get a list of all satellites, so after that, I tried "scan-s2 -s 1" and then I get this response:

API major 5, minor 2

usage: scan-s2 [options...] [-c | initial-tuning-data-file]
atsc/dvbscan doesn't do frequency scans, hence it needs initial
tuning data for at....


So I conclude my setup needs information about what satellite on what position on the DiSEqC switch? Am I correct?

If you see my diseqc.conf, does the "1:" above the first satellite mean switch position 2 then? :?

Do you have your setup working? What steps did you follow? Is there a manual somewhere?

Here are some more outputs of what I am trying but I feel lost somehow...


[root@moi vdr]# scan-s2 Astra-23.5E
API major 5, minor 2
ERROR: Cannot open rotor configuration file 'rotor.conf'.
scanning Astra-23.5E
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
ERROR: cannot open 'Astra-23.5E': 2 No such file or directory
ERROR: initial tuning failed
dumping lists (0 services)
Done.

[root@moi vdr]# scan-s2 Astra-23.5E
API major 5, minor 2
ERROR: Cannot open rotor configuration file 'rotor.conf'.
scanning Astra-23.5E
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
ERROR: cannot open 'Astra-23.5E': 2 No such file or directory
ERROR: initial tuning failed
dumping lists (0 services)
Done.

[root@moi vdr]# scan-s2 S23.5E
API major 5, minor 2
ERROR: Cannot open rotor configuration file 'rotor.conf'.
scanning S23.5E
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
ERROR: cannot open 'S23.5E': 2 No such file or directory
ERROR: initial tuning failed
dumping lists (0 services)
Done.

[root@moi vdr]# scan-s2 -s 0
API major 5, minor 2

usage: scan-s2 [options...] [-c | initial-tuning-data-file]
atsc/dvbscan doesn't do frequency scans, hence it needs initial
tuning data for at least one transponder/channel.
-c scan on currently tuned transponder only
-v verbose (repeat for more)
-q quiet (repeat for less)
-a N use DVB /dev/dvb/adapterN/
-f N use DVB /dev/dvb/adapter?/frontendN
-d N use DVB /dev/dvb/adapter?/demuxN
-s N use DiSEqC switch position N (DVB-S only)
-S N use DiSEqC uncommitted switch position N (DVB-S only)
-r sat move DiSEqC rotor to satellite location, e.g. '13.0E' or '1.0W'
-R N move DiSEqC rotor to position number N
-i N spectral inversion setting (0: off, 1: on, 2: auto [default])
-n evaluate NIT messages for full network scan (slow!)
-5 multiply all filter timeouts by factor 5
for non-DVB-compliant section repitition rates
-O pos Orbital position override 'S4W', 'S19.2E' - good for VDR output
-k cnt Skip count: skip the first cnt
messages of each message type (default 0)
-I cnt Scan iterations count (default 10).
Larger number will make scan longer on every channel
-o fmt output format: 'vdr' (default), 'vdr16x' for VDR version 1.6.x or 'zap'
-x N Conditional Access, (default -1)
N=-2 gets all channels (FTA and encrypted),
output received CAID :CAID:
N=-1 gets all channels (FTA and encrypted),
output CA is set to :0:
N=0 gets only FTA channels
N=xxx sets ca field in vdr output to :xxx:
-t N Service select, Combined bitfield parameter.
1 = TV, 2 = Radio, 4 = Other, (default 7)
-p for vdr output format: dump provider name
-e N VDR version, default 2 for VDR-1.2.x
ANYTHING ELSE GIVES NONZERO NIT and TID
Vdr version 1.3.x and up implies -p.
-l lnb-type (DVB-S Only) (use -l help to print types) or
-l low[,high[,switch]] in Mhz
-u UK DVB-T Freeview channel numbering for VDR

-P do not use ATSC PSIP tables for scanning
(but only PAT and PMT) (applies for ATSC only)
-A N check for ATSC 1=Terrestrial [default], 2=Cable or 3=both
-U Uniquely name unknown services
-D s Disable specified scan mode (by default all modes are enabled)
s=S1 Disable DVB-S scan
s=S2 Disable DVB-S2 scan (good for owners of cards that do not
support DVB-S2 systems)
-X Disable AUTOs for initial transponders (esp. for hardware which
not support it). Instead try each value of any free parameters.


I also tried:

scan-s2 (I get a list of satellites and explanation of how to use command)
scan-s2 -s 1, 2, 3, or 4 (every time same output)
scan-s2 1: or 0: or 2: (output about rotor.conf so that is wrong also)

Something is missing but what?

Any help very much appreciated.
MarCelluS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:49 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Setup VDR (Video Disc Recorder)

Postby MarCelluS » Fri Jan 23, 2015 11:11 pm

When I press on the "Scan Channels" button in web interface, in top I see this passing by:

scan-s2 -a 0 -O S19.2E -l 9750,10600,11700 -x -2 -o vdr -U -X /usr/local/dvb-s/test.ini

I think I have to adapt this command but have no idea how.

Is this ok?;

scan-s2 -a 0,1 -O S19.2E,S23.5E -l 9750,10600,11700 -x -2 -o vdr -U -X /usr/local/dvb-s/test.ini

My quest to get MOI+ working goes on... One thing I found out: it is NOT easy
MarCelluS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:49 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Setup VDR (Video Disc Recorder)

Postby MarCelluS » Fri Jan 23, 2015 11:53 pm

I did scan for Astra3, although, I THOUGHT I did..
The scan was initiated through the web interface with above part set to Astra3 and DiSEqC switch port set to 2. After pressing the "Scan Channels" button iI monitored with TOP ans saw this passing by:

6236 4780 root R 3508 0.3 0 0.0 /usr/local/bin/scan-s2 -a 0 -O S23.5E -l 9750,10600,11700 -x -2 -o vdr -U -X /usr/local/dvb-s/test.ini

After the scan giving message being failed, I check my channels.conf, and this is the content:

SAT.1 HD;ProSiebenSat.1:11462:HC56M5S1:S23.5E:9600:255:259;259:32:1830,1843,1860,186A:61300:1:1017:0
ProSieben HD;ProSiebenSat.1:11462:HC56M5S1:S23.5E:9600:511:515;515:33:1830,1843,1860,186A:61301:1:1017:0
kabel eins HD;ProSiebenSat.1:11462:HC56M5S1:S23.5E:9600:767:771;771:34:1830,1843,1860,186A:61302:1:1017:0
SIXX HD;ProSiebenSat.1:11462:HC56M5S1:S23.5E:9600:1023:1027;1027:35:1830,1843,1860,186A:61303:1:1017:0
ProSieben MAXX HD;ProSiebenSat.1:11462:HC56M5S1:S23.5E:9600:1279:1283;1283:36:1830,1843,1860,186A:61304:1:1017:0
SYFY;CSAT:11477:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4800:160:80=fra,81=eng:32:1811,1863,500,100:6401:1:1018:0
LIBIDO TV;:11477:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4800:161:84=fra:0:1811,500,1863,100:6402:1:1018:0
MA CHAINE SPORT;CSAT:11477:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4800:162:88=fra:0:1811,1863,500,100:6403:1:1018:0
M6 MUSIC;:11477:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4800:163:92=fra:41:1811,500,1812,1863,100:6404:1:1018:0
OFFRES CANAL READY;CSAT:11477:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4800:164:96=fra:0:0:6405:1:1018:0
NRJ HITS;CSAT:11477:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4800:165:100=fra:0:1811,500,1863,100:6406:1:1018:0
FRENCH LOVER;CSAT:11477:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4800:166:104=fra:0:1811,500,1863,100:6407:1:1018:0
GIRONDINS TV;IMEDIA:11477:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4800:167:108=fra:0:1811,500,1863,100:6408:1:1018:0
TELETOON+1;CSAT:11477:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4800:168:112=fra:56:1811,500,1863,1812,1819,100:6409:1:1018:0
PINK X;CSAT:11477:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4800:169:116=fra:0:1812,1811,500,1863,100:6410:1:1018:0
13EME RUE;CSAT:11477:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4800:170:120=fra,121=eng:62:1812,1811,1863,500,100:6411:1:1018:0
Cubavision Internacional;GLOBECAST:11500:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:708:728=spa:0:0:7008:1:1020:0
Al Jazeera Channel;GLOBECAST:11500:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:709:729=ara:0:0:7009:1:1020:0
RedeRecord;GLOBECAST:11500:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:710:730=por:0:0:7010:1:1020:0
Arirang TV;GLOBECAST:11500:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:711:731=kor:0:0:7011:1:1020:0
Al Jazeera English;GlobeCast:11500:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:712:732:0:0:7012:1:1020:0
RT Esp;GlobeCast:11500:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:1450:1550=spa:0:0:7013:1:1020:0
NHK World TV;GLOBECAST:11500:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:714:734=eng:0:0:7014:1:1020:0
Cubavision Internacional;GLOBECAST:11506:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:708:728=spa:0:0:7008:1:1020:0
Al Jazeera Channel;GLOBECAST:11506:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:709:729=ara:0:0:7009:1:1020:0
RedeRecord;GLOBECAST:11506:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:710:730=por:0:0:7010:1:1020:0
Arirang TV;GLOBECAST:11506:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:711:731=kor:0:0:7011:1:1020:0
Al Jazeera English;GlobeCast:11506:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:712:732:0:0:7012:1:1020:0
RT Esp;GlobeCast:11506:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:1450:1550=spa:0:0:7013:1:1020:0
NHK World TV;GLOBECAST:11506:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:714:734=eng:0:0:7014:1:1020:0
Cubavision Internacional;GLOBECAST:11512:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:708:728=spa:0:0:7008:1:1020:0
Al Jazeera Channel;GLOBECAST:11512:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:709:729=ara:0:0:7009:1:1020:0
RedeRecord;GLOBECAST:11512:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:710:730=por:0:0:7010:1:1020:0
Arirang TV;GLOBECAST:11512:VC34M2S1:S23.5E:4800:711:731=kor:0:0:7011:1:1020:0

As one can see, it are Astra1 stations (compare with the other list) but marked as Astra3????
If I copy and paste the part of the command I see in TOP, starting with the scan-s2 part, like this;

scan-s2 -a 0 -O S23.5E -l 9750,10600,11700 -x -2 -o vdr -U -X /usr/local/dvb-s/test.ini

This I paste in the ssh terminal screen, I get this error:

[root@moi dvb-s]# scan-s2 -a 0 -O S23.5E -l 9750,10600,11700 -x -2 -o vdr -U -X /usr/local/dvb-s/test.ini
API major 5, minor 2
ERROR: Cannot open rotor configuration file 'rotor.conf'.
scanning /usr/local/dvb-s/test.ini
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
initial transponder DVB-S2 12736000 V 4937000 3/4 AUTO 8PSK -1 0 0
----------------------------------> Using DVB-S2
>>> tune to: 12736:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4937:
DVB-S IF freq is 2136000
WARNING: >>> tuning failed!!!
>>> tune to: 12736:VC34M5S1:S23.5E:4937: (tuning failed)
DVB-S IF freq is 2136000
WARNING: >>> tuning failed!!!
ERROR: initial tuning failed
dumping lists (0 services)
Done.

I think I am close but do not see what I am missing.
MarCelluS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:49 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Setup VDR (Video Disc Recorder)

Postby MarCelluS » Tue Feb 03, 2015 8:21 pm

I still do not have my MOI+ working. For me, the GUI that shows in the web browser, is useless.. Does ANYONE have any clue on how to setup VDR through SSH? I think maybe use a pre-configured channels list could be a solution, since it is the channels scanning process that is not working. (I found this site: www.dxandy.com) Is the someone who could point out to me what are the requisites to get VDR running on MOI+? I think these are needed: channels.conf, diseqc.conf. But is there more? Does a good guide exist somewhere? Please I could use some help here...
MarCelluS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:49 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Setup VDR (Video Disc Recorder)

Postby MarCelluS » Sat Mar 21, 2015 3:57 pm

BUMP BUMP
MarCelluS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:49 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Setup VDR (Video Disc Recorder)

Postby MarCelluS » Thu Apr 02, 2015 6:41 pm

BUMP BUMP BUMP for what reason this forum is here? I have MOI+ that is useless unless I get it configured. Are there no people here that possess knowledge about setting up this device? I bought it last year and since then I am lost in the dark. This site seems dead somehow...
MarCelluS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:49 pm
Location: Netherlands


Return to MOI+

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests